WHAT IS ABUSE AND NEGLECT?

The Louisiana Children’s Code provides the
following definitions of abuse and neglect by a
parent or caretaker:

“Caretaker” means any person legally obligated
to provide or secure adequate care for a child,
including a parent, tutor, guardian, legal
custodian, foster home parent, an employee of a
public or private day care center, an operator or
employee of a registered family child day care
home, or other person providing a residence for
the child.

“Abuse” means any of the following acts which
seriously endanger the physical, mental or
emotional health and safety of the child.

e The infliction, attempted infliction, or as a
result of inadequate supervision, the allowance
of the infliction or attempted infliction of
physical or mental injury upon the child by a
parent or any other person.

The exploitation or overwork of a child
by a parent or any other person.

The involvement of the child in any sexual
act with a parent or any other person, or

the aiding or toleration by the parent or the
caretaker of the child’s sexual involvement
with any other person or of the child’s
involvement in pornographic displays, or any
other involvement of a child in sexual activity
constituting a crime under the laws of this
state.

“Neglect” means the refusal or unreasonable
failure of a parent or caretaker to supply the
child with necessary food, clothing, shelter, care,
treatment, or counseling for any injury, illness,
or condition of the child, as a result of which the
child’s physical, mental, or emotional health and
safety is substantially threatened or impaired.

Neglect includes prenatal neglect. “Prenatal
neglect” means exposure to chronic or severe use
of alcohol or the unlawful use of any controlled,
dangerous substance, as defined by R.S. 40:961
et seq., or in a manner not lawfully prescribed,
which results in symptoms of withdrawal in

the newborn or the presence of a controlled
substance or a metabolic thereof in his body,
blood, urine, or meconium, that is not the result
of medical treatment or observable and harmful
effects in his physical appearance or functioning.
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WHEN & HOW TO REPORT ABUSE/NEGLECT?

The Louisiana Children’s Code (Article 610)
specifies that mandated reporters shall make
reports immediately upon learning of incidents of
child abuse or neglect. When you have reason to

believe a child may have been abused or neglected
by a parent or caretaker, contact the Department of

Children and Family Services (DCFS):

1-855-4LA-KIDS
(855-452-5437)

Reports made orally must be followed by a
written report to DCFS or local law enforcement
within five days. A form (CPI-2) for this purpose is
available at www.dcfs.la.gov/abuse.

If the child abuse or neglect is by someone other
than a parent or caretaker, it shall be reported to
the local law enforcement agency.

To report suspected child abuse
or neglect, call toll-free
1-855-4LA-KIDS (855-452-5437)
to speak with a trained specialist
24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
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“Member of the Clergy”:

Any priest, rabbi, duly ordained clerical
deacon or minister, Christian Science
practitioner, or other similarly situated
functionary of a religious organization
unless not required to report a confidential
communication as defined in the Code of
Evidence Article 511.

“Teaching or Child Care Provider”:

Any person who provides or assists in the
teaching, training and supervision of a
child, including any public or private school
teacher, teacher’s aide, instructional aide,

“Organizational or Youth Activity Provider”:
Any person who provides organized activities
for children, including administrators,
employees, or volunteers of any day camp,
summer camp, youth center, or youth
recreation programs or any other organization
that provides organized activities for children.

“Coaches”:
School coaches, including but not limited
to, public technical or vocational school,
community college, college or university
coaches and coaches of intramural or
interscholastic athletics.

WHAT ARE POSSIBLE OUTCOMES
FOR MANDATED REPORTERS?

Any person who is required to report the abuse
or neglect of a child and knowingly and
willfully fails to do so shall be fined not more
than $500, imprisoned for not more than

six months, or both. If the abuse is sexual or
results in serious bodily injury, neurological
impairment, or death of the child, a mandated
reporter who knowingly and willfully fails to
report it shall be fined not more than $3,000,
imprisoned, with or without hard labor, for not
more than three years, or both.

school principal, school staff member,

bus driver, coach, professor, technical or
vocational instructor, technical or vocational
school staff member, college or university
administrator, college or university staff
member, social worker, probation officer,
foster home parent, group home or other
child care institution staff member, personnel
of a residential home facilities, a licensed

or unlicensed day care provider, or any
individual who provides such services to a
child in a voluntary or professional capacity.

Any person who has knowledge of the
commission of any homicide, rape, or sexual
abuse of child and fails to report or disclose it to
a law enforcement agency or district attorney,
unless bound by privilege of confidentiality
recognized by law, shall be fined not more

than $500, or imprisoned, with or without hard
labor, for not more than one year or both.

WHO ARE MANDATED REPORTERS?

Louisiana Children’s Code Article 603 defines
“mandatory reporter.” They are any of the
following individuals:

Any person 18 or older who witnesses the
sexual abuse of a child and knowingly and
willfully fails to report to law enforcement or
DCEFS, as required by Children’s Code Article
610, shall be fined not more than $10,000,
imprisoned, with or without hard labor, for not
more than five years or both.

“Health Practiti Y “Police Officers or Law Enforcement Officials”
ea ractitioner”:

Any individual who provides health care
services, including a physician, surgeon,
physical therapist, dentist, resident,

intern, hospital staff member, podiatrist,
chiropractor, licensed nurse, nursing aide,
dental hygienist, any emergency medical
technician, paramedic, optometrist, medical
examiner, or coroner who diagnoses,
examines, or treats a child or his family.

“Commercial Film & Photographic Print
Processor”:
Any person who develops exposed
photographic film into negatives, slides, or
prints, or who makes prints from negatives or
slides for compensation.

RELATED CRIMINAL CODE PROVISIONS

As a mandated reporter, you may be requested
to testify regarding any incident of which you
have direct knowledge if the case becomes the
subject of legal or judicial action.

La. R.S. 14:403 mandates any person who is
eighteen years of age or older who witnesses the
sexual abuse of a child to report the abuse to
law enforcement or the Department of Children
and Family Services as required by Children’s
Code Article 610.

“Mediators”:
Appointed pursuant to Children’s Code,

State law protects the identity of all mandated
Chapter 6 of Title IV.

reporters, and you are given immunity from
legal liability as a result of reports you make in
good faith.

“Mental Health/Social Service Practitioner”:
Any individual who provides mental
health care or social services diagnosis,
assessment, counseling, or treatment,
including a psychiatrist, psychologist,
marriage or family counselor, social worker,
member of clergy, aide, or other individual
who provides counseling services to a child
or his family.

“Parenting Coordinators”:
Appointed in a child custody case pursuant to

La. R.S. 14:131.1 mandates any person having
R.S. 9:358.1.

knowledge of the commission of any homicide,
rape, or sexual abuse of a child to report such
information to a law enforcement agency or
district attorney, except when the person having
such knowledge is bound by any privilege of
confidentiality recognized by law.

“Court-Appointed Special Advocates (CASA)”:
CASA volunteer under the supervision of
a CASA program appointed pursuant to
Chapter 4 of Title IV.




