

**Safe Haven** provides a safe, legal, last resort to abandonment.

For more information and support regarding the Safe Haven option, call 1-888-510-BABY (1-888-510-2229), text SAFEHAVEN to 313131 or visit www.l.ouisianaSafeHaven.com.



# SCAN ME

#### **DESIGNATED SAFE HAVEN SITES**

- Any hospital licensed in the state of Louisiana;
- The following medical clinics during normal and customary hours of operation: local or parish public health units, licensed rural health clinics, licensed ambulatory surgical centers, and Federally Qualified Health Centers;
- Any manned fire station;
- Any manned law enforcement station;
- Any Child Advocacy Center accredited by the National Children's Alliance, during normal and customary hours of operation; and
- Any authorized newborn safety device.

If a parent is unable to travel to a **Safe Haven** site, he or she may call 911, and a law enforcement officer, firefighter and/or EMS provider will be dispatched, confirm the Safe Haven relinquishment and transport the newborn to a hospital.

#### www.LouisianaSafeHaven.com

This public document was published electronically at a total cost of \$0. One (1) electronic copy of this public document was published in this printing at a cost of \$0. This document was published by the Louisiana Department of Children and Family Services, 627 North 4th Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70802, to inform the public about Louisiana's Safe Haven Law. This material was printed in accordance with standards for printing by state agencies established pursuant to R.S. 43:31. Printing of this material was purchased in accordance with the provisions of Title 43 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes. Safe Haven brochure issued February 2019.

# NO PLACE TO TURN?

#### **LOUISIANA'S SAFE HAVEN LAW**

It's a safe, legal and anonymous last resort to abandonment for you and your newborn.

Choose a Safe Haven.





## **SAFE BABY SITE**



LOUISIANASAFEHAVEN.COM 1-888-510-BABY (1-888-510-2229) Text SAFEHAVEN to 313131



#### IT'S SAFE

If you find yourself with no alternative and are considering abandoning your baby, Louisiana's Safe Haven Law provides a safe place for your child. If you are unable to care for your baby, you can bring your newborn, up to 60 days old or if the infant was admitted to a neonatal intensive care unit upon birth and has not been discharged from the hospital then the sixty days shall commence from the date of initial discharge to an emergency designated facility, or Safe Haven that is manned continuously on a twenty-four hour basis, seven days a week, and three hundred sixty-five days a year or call 911 if not able to transport. By leaving your baby in the care of an employee at a Safe Haven facility or emergency responder, parents can relinquish their newborn for purpose of adoption with no questions asked.

Parents are encouraged to use a planned, permanent adoption through an adoption agency that accounts for medical and genetic history. **Safe Haven** relinquishments do, however, provide an alternative to abandonment.

The Safe Haven Hotline can provide information and support regarding this process.

#### IT'S LEGAL

Employees at designated **Safe Haven** sites are trained to keep a newborn safe and the situation confidential.

As long as the parent leaves their baby with an employee and the baby has not been abused or neglected, the parent can simply walk away knowing their baby will be safe.

Leaving a baby unattended, on a doorstep or in a bathroom, for instance, is illegal and will not meet the criteria of the **Safe Haven** Law.



#### IT'S ANONYMOUS

Parents do not have to give their name or any other information. Parents can call 1-888-510-BABY (1-888-510-2229) or text SAFEHAVEN to 313131 to learn about their parental rights or anonymously give medical information about their baby to be used for adoption purposes.

DCFS Child Abuse/Neglect Hotline can also be reached, if necessary, at 1-855-4LA-KIDS (1-855-452-5437).

#### **HOW IT WORKS**

- 1. Go to the nearest **Safe Haven** facility or call 911. A listing of all sites can be found at www.LouisianaSafeHaven.com.
- 2. Give the baby to an employee at the facility. If there is no employee present at the site, the parent can contact 911. Parents should state that they want to use the Safe Haven Law.
- 3. If a parent is unable to travel to a Safe Haven facility, he or she may call 911, and a law enforcement officer, firefighter and/or EMS provider will be dispatched, confirm the Safe Haven relinquishment and transport the newborn to a hospital.
- 4. An employee of the facility or the dispatched emergency responder will offer the parent a card with a toll-free number to call 1-888-510-BABY(1-888-510-2229) or text SAFEHAVEN to 313131 to give medical information about the baby or learn about parental rights.

#### WHAT HAPPENS TO THE BABY?

The baby will be brought to the nearest medical facility for a health assessment and to receive any necessary medical care. The Department of Children and Family Services (DCFS) will find a family to care for the baby. DCFS will begin proceedings to obtain custody of the child to achieve safety and permanency.

#### WHAT HAPPENS TO THE PARENT?

As long as the baby has not been abused or neglected, the parent will be protected by the Safe Haven Law and will not be considered guilty of a criminal act of neglect, abandonment or child cruelty.

### WHAT IF THE PARENT CHANGES HIS/HER MIND?

The parent can seek to reclaim parental rights within 30 days by contacting their local DCFS office.