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NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Children and Family Services 
 

Licensing 
 

Sanctions, Child Placing Supervisory Visits, and Specialized 
Provider Provisions 

(LAC 67:V.6712, 6962, 7109, 7111, 7112, 7117, 7309, 7311, 7313, 
7314, 7315, 7319, 7321 and 7508) 

 
In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 

Procedure Act R.S. 49:953(A), the Department of Children and 

Family Services (DCFS) proposes to amend LAC 67:V, Subpart 8, 

Sections 6712, 6962, 7109, 7111, 7112, 7117, 7309, 7311, 7313, 

7314, 7315, 7319, 7321 and 7508. 

The implementation of this rule to Sections 7109, 7111, and 

7311 places in the rule, the authority of the Department to 

institute intermediate sanctions and levy fines against licensed 

providers that fail to comply with the requirement of a state 

central registry clearance for individuals owning, working in, 

and having access to children/youth in DCFS licensed facilities 

and agencies. In accordance with R.S. 46:1430, as amended by Act 

31 of the 2021 Regular Legislative Session, it is necessary to 

promulgate this rule to make permanent the implementation of 

R.S. 46:1430 which was effective August 1, 2021. 

Pursuant to Children’s Code Article 1213, as amended by Act 

6 of the 2021 Regular Legislative Session, the department is 

adopting rules to Sections 7313 and 7321 to make permanent the 

emergency rule in accordance with the required law which was 

effective August 1, 2021. The department considers action 

necessary to meet the requirements of Act 6 of the 2021 Regular 

Legislative Session. 

In addition, the department proposes to amend Sections 

6712, 6962, 7112, 7117, 7309, 7314, 7315, 7319, and 7508. The 

proposed rule requires individuals to request a state central 

registry clearance every 5 years if the individual resides in a 
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state other than Louisiana. The current rule only requires 

submission if the individual is a resident of Louisiana. Section 

7117 allows a nurse practitioner to complete a medical 

examination, in addition to a physician. Section 7314 removes 

the term children of residents from the rule as this is not a 

term associated with child placing agency regulations. In 

addition, Section 7319 clarifies the requirements of a legally 

married couple when applying to become a foster/adoptive parent. 

Title 67 

SOCIAL SERVICES 

Part V.  Child Welfare 

Subpart 8.  Residential Licensing 

Chapter 67. Maternity Home 

§6712. State Central Registry 

 A. – A.2. ... 

  3. In accordance with R.S. 46:1414.1, an inquiry of 

the State Central Registry for all owners and operators shall be 

conducted prior to a license being issued or if currently 

licensed, prior to the addition of a new board member who meets 

the definition of an owner. The Louisiana State Central Registry 

clearance form shall be dated no earlier than 45 days prior to 

the application being received by the Licensing Section or the 

addition of a new board member who meets the definition of an 

owner. For states other than Louisiana, clearance forms shall be 

dated no earlier than 120 days prior to application being 

received by the licensing section or the addition of a new board 

member who meets the definition of an owner; however, 

individuals who continue to reside outside of the state of 

Louisiana but own/operate a maternity home in the state of 

Louisiana, their clearances shall be dated prior to the issuance 

of the initial license, but no earlier than 45 days prior to the 

initial application being received by the Licensing Section.  A 
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request for a state central registry clearance from the state in 

which the owner/operator resides shall be submitted by provider 

every five years prior to the date noted on the most current 

clearance and at any time upon the request of DCFS. No person 

who is recorded on any state’s child abuse and neglect registry 

with a valid justified (valid) finding of abuse or neglect of a 

child shall be eligible to own, operate, or participate in the 

governance of the maternity home. 

   a. – 4.a. ... 

   b. The out of state clearance forms shall be 

dated no earlier than 120 days prior to the application being 

received by the Licensing Section; however, individuals who 

continue to reside outside of the state of Louisiana but 

own/operate a maternity home in the state of Louisiana, their 

clearances shall be dated prior to the issuance of the initial 

license, but no earlier than 45 days prior to the initial 

application being received by the Licensing Section. 

  5. – B.1.b. ... 

   c. In accordance with R.S. 46:1414.1, an 

inquiry of the State Central Registry for all staff (paid, non-

paid and volunteers) shall be conducted prior to employment 

being offered to a potential hire. Staff (paid, non-paid, and 

volunteers) persons who have resided in another state within the 

proceeding preceding five years, provider shall request a check 

and obtain State Central Registry clearance from that state’s 

child abuse and neglect registry. Louisiana State Central 

Registry clearance forms shall be dated no earlier than 45 days 

prior to the staff (paid, non-paid, and volunteers) being 

present on the premises or having access to residents and/or 

infants of residents. Other states’ State Central Registry 

clearance forms shall be dated no earlier than 120 days prior to 

the staff (paid, non-paid, and volunteers) being present on the 
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premises or having access to residents and/or infants of 

residents ; however, individuals who continue to reside outside 

of the state of Louisiana but volunteer with or work for the 

maternity home or with residents and/or infants of residents in 

the state of Louisiana, their clearances shall be dated prior to 

hire and/or providing services to residents and/or infants of 

residents, but no earlier than 45 days of hire or providing 

services. A request for a state central registry clearance from 

the state in which the staff/volunteer resides shall be 

submitted by provider every five years prior to the date noted 

on the most current clearance and at any time upon the request 

of DCFS. No person who is recorded on any state’s child abuse 

and neglect registry with a valid (justified) finding of abuse 

and/or neglect shall be eligible for employment in a licensed 

maternity home. 

    i. – C.1.c.i. ... 

   d. Louisiana State Central Registry clearance 

forms shall be dated no earlier than 45 days prior to the 

individual providing services or having access to residents 

and/or infants of residents. Other states’ State Central 

Registry clearance information shall be dated no earlier than 

120 days prior to the individual providing services or having 

access to residents and/or infants of residents however, 

individuals who continue to reside outside of the state of 

Louisiana but contract with or provide services for the 

maternity home or with residents and/or infants of residents in 

the state of Louisiana, their clearances shall be dated prior to 

hire and/or providing services to residents and/or infants of 

residents, but no earlier than 45 days of hire or providing 

services.  A request for a state central registry clearance from 

the state in which the contractor resides shall be submitted by 

provider every five years prior to the date noted on the most 
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current clearance and at any time upon the request of DCFS. No 

person who is recorded on any state’s child abuse and neglect 

registry with a valid (justified) finding of abuse and/or 

neglect shall be eligible for employment in a licensed maternity 

home. 

   e. – D.1. ... 

 AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:1414.1. 

 HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Children 

and Family Services, Licensing Section, LR 45:516 (April 2019), 

effective May 1, 2019, LR 46:672 (May 2020), effective June 1, 

2020, LR 47: 

Chapter 69. Child Residential Care, Class B 

§6962. State Central Registry 

 A. – A.2. ... 

  3. In accordance with R.S. 46:1414.1, an inquiry of 

the State Central Registry for all owners and operators shall be 

conducted prior to a license being issued or if currently 

licensed, prior to the addition of a new board member who meets 

the definition of an owner. The Louisiana State Central Registry 

clearance form shall be dated no earlier than 45 days prior to 

the application being received by the Licensing Section or the 

addition of a new board member who meets the definition of an 

owner. For states other than Louisiana, clearance forms shall be 

dated no earlier than 120 days prior to the application being 

received by the Licensing Section or the addition of a new board 

member who meets the definition of an owner; however, 

individuals who continue to reside outside of the state of 

Louisiana, but own/operate a residential home in Louisiana, 

their clearances shall be dated prior to the issuance of the 

initial license, but no earlier than 45 days prior to the 

initial application being received by the Licensing Section. A 
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request for a state central registry clearance from the state in 

which the owner/operator resides shall be submitted by provider 

every five years prior to the date noted on the most current 

clearance and at any time upon the request of DCFS. No person 

who is recorded on any state’s child abuse and neglect registry 

with a valid justified (valid) finding of abuse or neglect of a 

child shall be eligible to own, operate, or participate in the 

governance of the residential home. 

   a. – B.1.b. ... 

   c. In accordance with R.S. 46:1414.1, an 

inquiry of the State Central Registry for all staff (paid, non-

paid and volunteers) shall be conducted prior to employment 

being offered to a potential hire. Staff (paid, non-paid, and 

volunteers) persons who have resided in another state within the 

proceeding preceding five years, provider shall request a check 

and obtain State Central Registry clearance from that state’s 

child abuse and neglect registry. Louisiana State Central 

Registry clearance forms shall be dated no earlier than 45 days 

prior to the staff (paid, non-paid, and volunteers) being 

present on the premises or having access to children/youth. 

Other states State Central Registry clearance forms shall be 

dated no earlier than 120 days prior to the staff (paid, non-

paid, and volunteers) being present on the premises or having 

access to children/youth; however, individuals who continue to 

reside outside of the state of Louisiana, but volunteer with 

and/or work for a licensed provider in the state of Louisiana, 

their clearances shall be dated no earlier than 45 days prior to 

hire and/or having access to children/youth. A request for a 

state central registry clearance from the state in which the 

staff/volunteer resides shall be submitted by provider every 

five years prior to the date noted on the most current clearance 

and at any time upon the request of DCFS. No person who is 
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recorded on any state’s child abuse and neglect registry with a 

valid (justified) finding of abuse and/or neglect shall be 

eligible for employment in a licensed residential home. 

    i. – C.1.c.i. ... 

   d. Louisiana State Central Registry clearance 

forms shall be dated no earlier than 45 days prior to the 

individual providing services or having access to 

children/youth. Other state’s State Central Registry clearance 

information shall be dated no earlier than 120 days prior to the 

individual providing services or having access to 

children/youth; however, individuals who continue to reside 

outside of the state of Louisiana, but contract with and/or work 

for a licensed provider in the state of Louisiana, their 

clearances shall be dated no earlier than 45 days prior to hire 

and/or having access to children/youth. A request for a state 

central registry clearance from the state in which the 

contractor resides shall be submitted by provider every five 

years prior to the date noted on the most current clearance and 

at any time upon the request of DCFS. No person who is recorded 

on any state’s child abuse and neglect registry with a valid 

(justified) finding of abuse and/or neglect shall be eligible 

for employment in a licensed residential home. 

   e. – D.1. ... 

 AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:1414.1. 

 HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Children 

and Family Services, Licensing Section, LR 45:510 (April 2019), 

effective May 1, 2019, LR 46:688 (May 2020), effective June 1, 

2020, LR 47: 

Chapter 71. Residential Homes - Type IV 

§7109. Critical Violations/Fines 

 A. – A.5. ... 
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  6. §7107.A.8, §7107.A.9, §7107.D.4.f.iv., 

§7107.E.2.g, §7111.A.2.c.iii, §7111.A.5.c, §7111.B.2.a.x, 

§7112.A-D, and/or §7117.A.14.k state central registry clearance 

effective August 1, 2021. 

 B. – E.1.k. ... 

   l. When the cited critical violation was for a 

state central registry clearance not being completed prior to 

hire as required, but obtained before the individual was on the 

premises and/or had access to a resident or child of a resident, 

the fine shall be decreased by $25. 

   m. When the cited critical violation was for 

state central registry clearance not being completed prior to 

the individual being on the premises and/or having access to a 

resident or child of a resident, the fine shall be increased by 

$25. 

 F. – H.4. ... 

 AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 46:1401 

et seq. 

 HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Children 

and Family Services, Licensing Section, LR 43:258 (February 

2017), amended LR 43:1725 (September 2017), LR 44:1991 (November 

2018), effective December 1, 2018, amended by the Department of 

Children and Family Services, Licensing Section, LR 45:521 

(April 2019), effective May 1, 2019, LR 46:674 (May 2020), 

effective June 1, 2020, LR 47: 

§7111. Provider Requirements 

 A. – A.2.c.ii. ... 

    iii. have a state central registry 

notification clearance form from Child Welfare as required in 

§7112; 

    iv. – J.1. ... 

 AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 36:477 
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and R.S. 46:1401 et seq. 

 HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Social 

Services, Office of Community Service, LR 36:811 (April 2010), 

amended by the Department of Children and Family Services, 

Division of Programs, Licensing Section, LR 38:979, 984 Title 

67, Part V 247 Louisiana Administrative Code April 2021 (April 

2012), LR 42:221 (February 2016), amended by the Department of 

Children and Family Services, Licensing Section, LR 43:261 

(February 2017), LR 43:1725 (September 2017), LR 44:1992 

(November 2018), effective December 1, 2018, amended by the 

Department of Children and Family Services, Licensing Section, 

LR 45:521 (April 2019), effective May 1, 2019, LR 46:674 (May 

2020), effective June 1, 2020, LR 47: 

§7112. State Central Registry 

 A. – A.2. ... 

  3. In accordance with R.S. 46:1414.1, an inquiry of 

the State Central Registry for all owners and operators shall be 

conducted prior to a license being issued or if currently 

licensed, prior to the addition of a new board member who meets 

the definition of an owner. The Louisiana State Central Registry 

clearance form shall be dated no earlier than 45 days prior to 

the initial application being received by the Licensing Section 

or the addition of a new board member who meets the definition 

of an owner. For states other than Louisiana, clearance forms 

shall be dated no earlier than 120 days prior to the initial 

application being received by the Licensing Section or the 

addition of a new board member who meets the definition of an 

owner; however, individuals who continue to reside outside of 

the state of Louisiana but own/operate a residential home in the 

state of Louisiana, their clearances shall be dated prior to the 

issuance of the initial license, but no earlier than 45 days 

prior to the initial application being received by the Licensing 
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Section.  A request for a state central registry clearance from 

the state in which the owner/operator resides shall be submitted 

by provider every five years prior to the date noted on the most 

current clearance and at any time upon the request of DCFS.  No 

person who is recorded on any state’s child abuse and neglect 

registry with a valid justified (valid) finding of abuse or 

neglect of a child shall be eligible to own, operate, or 

participate in the governance of the residential home. 

   a. – B.1.b. ... 

   c. In accordance with R.S. 46:1414.1, an 

inquiry of the State Central Registry for all staff (paid, non-

paid and volunteers) shall be conducted prior to employment 

being offered to a potential hire. Staff (paid, non-paid, and 

volunteers) persons who have resided in another state within the 

preceding proceeding five years, provider shall request a check 

and obtain State Central Registry clearance from that state’s 

child abuse and neglect registry. Louisiana State Central 

Registry clearance forms shall be dated no earlier than 45 days 

prior to the staff (paid, non-paid, and volunteers) being 

present on the premises or having access to residents and/or 

children of residents. Other states’ State Central Registry 

clearance forms shall be dated no earlier than 120 days prior to 

the staff (paid, non-paid, and volunteers) being present on the 

premises or having access to residents and/or children of 

residents; however, individuals who continue to reside outside 

of the state of Louisiana and volunteer with and/or work for a 

licensed provider in the state of Louisiana, their clearances 

shall be dated no earlier than 45 days prior to hire and/or 

having access to residents and/or children of residents. A 

request for a state central registry clearance from the state in 

which the staff/volunteer resides shall be submitted by provider 

every five years prior to the date noted on the most current 
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clearance and at any time upon the request of DCFS. No person 

who is recorded on any state’s child abuse and neglect registry 

with a valid (justified) finding of abuse and/or neglect shall 

be eligible for employment in a licensed residential home. 

    i. – C.1.c.i. ... 

   d. Louisiana State Central Registry clearance 

forms shall be dated no earlier than 45 days prior to the 

individual providing services or having access to residents 

and/or children of residents. Other states’ State Central 

Registry clearance information shall be dated no earlier than 

120 days prior to the individual providing services or having 

access to children/youth; however, individuals who continue to 

reside outside of the state of Louisiana and provide services 

for and/or work for a licensed provider in the state of 

Louisiana, their clearances shall be dated no earlier than 45 

days prior to hire and/or having access to residents and/or 

children of residents.  A request for a state central registry 

clearance from the state in which the contractor resides shall 

be submitted by provider every five years prior to the date 

noted on the most current clearance and at any time upon the 

request of DCFS. No person who is recorded on any state’s child 

abuse and neglect registry with a valid (justified) finding of 

abuse and/or neglect shall be eligible for employment in a 

licensed residential home. 

   e. – D.1. ... 

 AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:1414.1. 

 HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Children 

and Family Services, Licensing Section, LR 45:521 (April 2019), 

effective May 1, 2019, LR 46:674 (May 2020), effective June 1, 

2020, LR 47: 

§7117.Provider Services 
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 A. – D.1.a.viii. ... 

  2. Medical Care 

   a. The provider shall arrange ensure that a 

medical examination by a physician or nurse practitioner for the 

resident or child of a resident is conducted within a week of 

admission unless the resident or child of a resident has 

received such an examination within 30 days before admission and 

the results of this examination are available to the provider. 

If the resident or child of a resident is being transferred from 

another residential home and has had a physical medical 

examination within the last 12 months, a copy of this 

examination may be obtained to meet the requirement of the 

admission medical examinationphysical. The physical medical 

examination shall include: 

    i. – F.19. ... 

 AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 36:477 

and R.S. 46:1401 et seq. 

 HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Social 

Services, Office of Community Service, LR 36:823 (April 2010), 

amended by the Department of Children and Family Services, 

Division of Programs, Licensing Section, LR 38:985 (April 2012), 

amended by the Department of Children and Family Services, 

Licensing Section, LR 43:278 (February 2017), LR 43:1725 

(September 2017), LR 46:675 (May 2020), effective June 1, 2020, 

LR 47: 

Chapter 73. Child Placing Agencies—General Provisions 

§7309. Background Checks 

 A. – B.2. ... 

  3. In accordance with R.S. 46:1414.1, an inquiry of 

the State Central Registry for all owners and operators shall be 

conducted prior to a license being issued or if currently 

licensed, prior to the addition of a new board member who meets 
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the definition of an owner. The Louisiana State Central Registry 

clearance form shall be dated no earlier than 45 days prior to 

the application being received by the Licensing Section or the 

addition of a new board member who meets the definition of an 

owner. For states other than Louisiana, clearance forms shall be 

dated no earlier than 120 days prior to the application being 

received by the Licensing Section or the addition of a new board 

member who meets the definition of an owner; however, 

individuals who continue to reside outside of the state of 

Louisiana but own/operate a child placing agency in Louisiana, 

their clearances shall be dated prior to the issuance of the 

initial license, but no earlier than 45 days prior to the 

initial application being received by the Licensing Section. A 

request for a state central registry clearance from the state in 

which the owner/operator resides shall be submitted by provider 

every five years prior to the date noted on the most current 

clearance and at any time upon the request of DCFS. No person 

who is recorded on any state’s child abuse and neglect registry 

with a valid justified (valid) finding of abuse or neglect of a 

child shall be eligible to own, operate, or participate in the 

governance of the child-placing agency. 

   a. – E.4. ... 

 AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:1407(D). 

 HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Children 

and Family Services, Licensing Section, LR 45:357 (March 2019), 

effective April 1, 2019, LR 46:679 (May 2020), effective June 1, 

2020, LR 47: 

§7311. Licensing Requirements—Foster Care, Adoption, 

Transitional Placing 

 A. – B.5.g.v. ... 

    vi. if an individual resided in a state 
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other than Louisiana in the previous five years, State Central 

Registry clearance from those states dated no earlier than 120 

days prior to hire; however, individuals who continue to reside 

outside of the state of Louisiana and work for a licensed 

provider in the state of Louisiana, their clearances shall be 

dated no earlier than 45 days prior to hire and/or having access 

to children/youth or if a currently hired staff person assuming 

the position of program director, then a copy of the SCR 

clearance which is on file for individual’s previous position 

with the agency. A request for a state central registry 

clearance from the state in which the director resides shall be 

submitted by provider every five years prior to the date noted 

on the most current clearance and at any time upon the request 

of DCFS. 

   h. – D.2.r. ... 

   s. documentation of out of State Central 

Registry clearance forms for owners dated no earlier than 120 

days prior to the CHOL application being received by the 

Licensing Section as noted in §7309.B ; however, individuals who 

continue to reside outside of the state of Louisiana but 

own/operate a child placing agency in the state of Louisiana, 

their clearances shall be dated prior to the issuance of the 

initial CHOL license, but no earlier than 45 days prior to the 

initial application being received by the Licensing Section. A 

request for a state central registry clearance from the state in 

which the owner resides shall be submitted by provider every 

five years prior to the date noted on the most current clearance 

and at any time upon the request of DCFS. 

   t. – u. ... 

   v. documentation of out of State Central 

Registry clearance forms for foster/adoptive parents and 

household members age 18 years and older, excluding youth in 
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DCFS custody, dated no earlier than 120 days prior to the CHOL 

application being received by the Licensing Section as noted in 

§7315.C; however, for household members over the age of 18 years 

who continue to reside outside of the state of Louisiana, but 

their official domicile is a certified foster/adoptive home in 

the state of Louisiana, their clearances shall be dated prior to 

the issuance of the initial license, but no earlier than 45 days 

prior to the initial CHOL application being received by the 

Licensing Section; A request for a state central registry 

clearance from the state in which the household member resides 

shall be submitted by provider every five years prior to the 

date noted on the most current clearance and at any time upon 

the request of DCFS. 

   w. – x. ... 

   y. documentation of out of State Central 

Registry clearance forms for staff ( paid, non-paid, and 

volunteers) and contractors dated no earlier than 120 days prior 

to the application being received by the Licensing Section as 

noted in §7313.I.9.and/or §7313.M.1., as applicable; however, 

individuals who continue to reside outside of the state of 

Louisiana, but volunteer with, provide services for, and/or work 

for a licensed provider in the state of Louisiana, their 

clearances shall be dated no earlier than 45 days prior to hire 

and/or having access to children/youth. A request for a state 

central registry clearance from the state in which the 

staff/contractor resides shall be submitted by provider every 

five years prior to the date noted on the most current clearance 

and at any time upon the request of DCFS. 

   z. – E.2.q. ... 

   r. documentation of out of State Central 

Registry clearance forms for owners dated no earlier than 120 

days prior to the CHOW application being received by the 
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licensing section as noted in §7309.B ;however, individuals who 

continue to reside outside of the state of Louisiana but 

own/operate a child placing agency in the state of Louisiana, 

their clearances shall be dated prior to the issuance of the 

initial license, but no earlier than 45 days prior to the 

initial CHOW application being received by the Licensing 

Section. A request for a state central registry clearance from 

the state in which the owner resides shall be submitted by 

provider every five years prior to the date noted on the most 

current clearance and at any time upon the request of DCFS. 

   s. – t. ... 

   u. documentation of out of State Central 

Registry clearance forms for staff ( paid, non-paid, and 

volunteers) and contractors dated no earlier than 120 days prior 

to the CHOW application being received by the Licensing Section 

as noted in §7313.I.10.and/or §7313.M.2., as applicable,; 

however, individuals who continue to reside outside of the state 

of Louisiana but volunteer with, provide services for, and/or 

work for a licensed provider in the state of Louisiana, their 

clearances shall be dated no earlier than 45 days prior to hire 

and/or having access to children/youth. A request for a state 

central registry clearance from the state in which the 

staff/contractor resides shall be submitted by provider every 

five years prior to the date noted on the most current clearance 

and at any time upon the request of DCFS. 

   v. – w. ... 

   x. documentation of out of State Central 

Registry clearance forms for foster/adoptive parents and 

household members age 18 years and older, excluding youth in 

DCFS custody, dated no earlier than 120 days prior to the 

application being received by the Licensing Section as noted in 

§7315.C ; however; for household members over the age of 18 
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years who continue to reside outside of the state of Louisiana, 

but their official domicile is a certified foster/adoptive home 

in the state of Louisiana, their clearances shall be dated prior 

to the issuance of the initial license, but no earlier than 45 

days prior to the initial CHOW application being received by the 

Licensing Section. A request for a state central registry 

clearance from the state in which the household member resides 

shall be submitted by provider every five years prior to the 

date noted on the most current clearance and at any time upon 

the request of DCFS. 

   y. – M.1. ... 

   a. §7309.A, §7309.C.1-9, §7309.D.1-4, 

§7311.B.5.d.vi-vii., §7311.B.5.g.iv., §7311.B.5.h.v., 

§7311.C.2.g, §7313.I.9, §7313.L.5, §7313.M.1, §7314.A-G, and/or 

§7315.B, and/or §7321.J.1-2 - criminal background check; 

   b. – c. ... 

   d. §7309.B., §7311.B.5.d.viii, §7311.B.5.g.v. – 

vi, §7311.B.5.h.iv, §7311.C.2.h, §7313.I.10, §7313.L.6, 

§7313.M.2, §7315.C., and/or §7321.J. 1-2 – state central 

registry clearance effective August 1, 2021. 

  2. – M.7.i. ... 

   j. When the cited critical violation was for a 

state central registry clearance not being completed prior to 

hire as required, but obtained before the individual was on the 

premises and/or had access to a child/youth, the fine shall be 

decreased by $25. 

   k. When the cited critical violation was for 

state central registry clearance not being completed prior to 

the individual being on the premises and/or having access to a 

child/youth, the fine shall be increased by $25. 

  8. – N.4. ... 

 AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 36:477 
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and R.S. 46:1401 et seq. 

 HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Children 

and Family Services, Licensing Section, LR 45:359 (March 2019), 

effective April 1, 2019, LR 46:681 (May 2020), effective June 1, 

2020, amended LR 47:350 (March 2021), effective April 1, 2021, 

repromulgated LR 47:441 (April 2021), LR 47: 

§7313. Administration and Operation 

 A. – H.6.d. ... 

  7. Effective April 1, 2019, staff conducting 

supervisory visits with foster/adoptive parents, and/or 

children/youth in certified foster home placements, and/or youth 

in transitional placing placements shall possess, at a minimum, 

a bachelor's degree in social work or a human service related 

bachelor's degree. 

  8. Effective August 1, 2021 in accordance with Act 6 

of the 2021 Regular Legislative Session, all supervisory visits 

noted in Section 7321. H. shall be conducted by a social worker 

in the employ of the licensed adoption agency, licensed social 

worker, licensed professional counselor, licensed psychologist, 

medical psychologist, licensed psychiatrist, or licensed 

marriage and family therapist. 

 I. – I.10.b. ... 

   c. In accordance with R.S. 46:1414.1, an 

inquiry of the State Central Registry for all staff (paid, non-

paid and volunteer staff) shall be conducted prior to employment 

being offered to a potential hire. Staff persons who have 

resided in another state within the proceeding preceding five 

years, provider shall request a check and obtain State Central 

Registry clearance from that state’s child abuse and neglect 

registry. Louisiana State Central Registry clearance forms shall 

be dated no earlier than 45 days prior to the staff being 

present on the premises or having access to children/youth. 
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Other states’ State Central Registry clearance forms shall be 

dated no earlier than 120 days prior to the staff being present 

on the premises or having access to children/youth; however, 

individuals who continue to reside outside of the state of 

Louisiana, but volunteer with and/or work for a licensed 

provider in the state of Louisiana, their clearances shall be 

dated no earlier than 45 days prior to hire and/or having access 

to children/youth.  A request for a state central registry 

clearance from the state in which the staff resides shall be 

submitted by provider every five years prior to the date noted 

on the most current clearance and at any time upon the request 

of DCFS. No person who is recorded on any state’s child abuse 

and neglect registry with a valid (justified) finding of abuse 

and/or neglect shall be eligible for employment in a licensed 

child-placing agency. 

    i. – J.7. ... 

  8. All staff hired effective January 1, 2022 whose 

job duties will include working with foster/adoptive parents, 

birth parents, children and youth and their adoptive or kinship 

families or conducting/approving home studies shall complete the 

NTI Training for Child Welfare Professionals (20 hours) offered 

by the National Adoption Competency Mental Health Training 

Initiative available at https://adoptionsupport.org/nti/ prior 

to working unsupervised with foster/adoptive parents, birth 

parents, children and youth and their adoptive or kinship 

families or conducting/approving home studies. Documentation of 

training shall be the certificate obtained upon successful 

completion of the training. 

 K. – K.6. ... 

  7. All staff hired prior to January 1, 2022 who 

currently work with foster/adoptive parents, birth parents, 

children and youth and their adoptive or kinship families or 
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conduct/approve home studies shall complete the NTI Training for 

Child Welfare Professionals (20 hours) offered by the National 

Adoption Competency Mental Health Training Initiative available 

at https://adoptionsupport.org/nti/ by March 31, 2022.  

Documentation of training shall be the certificate obtained upon 

successful completion of the training. If an adoption competency 

training other than the NTI training was previously completed by 

staff prior to January 1, 2022, provider shall submit the 

certificate obtained upon successful completion of the training 

as well as a description of the topics/areas addressed in the 

training to DCFS for approval by January 31, 2022.  

 L. – M.2.c.i. ... 

   d. Louisiana State Central Registry clearance 

forms shall be dated no earlier than 45 days prior to the 

individual providing services or having access to 

children/youth. Other states’ State Central Registry clearance 

information shall be dated no earlier than 120 days prior to the 

individual providing services or having access to 

children/youth; however, individuals who continue to reside 

outside of the state of Louisiana, but contract with and/or work 

for a licensed provider in the state of Louisiana, their 

clearances shall be dated no earlier than 45 days prior to hire 

and/or having access to children/youth. A request for a state 

central registry clearance from the state in which the 

contractor resides shall be submitted by provider every five 

years prior to the date noted on the most current clearance and 

at any time upon the request of DCFS. No person who is recorded 

on any state’s child abuse and neglect registry with a valid 

(justified) finding of abuse and/or neglect shall be eligible 

for employment in a licensed child-placing agency. 

   e. - U.5.  . . . 

 AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

https://adoptionsupport.org/nti/
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46:1407(D). 

 HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Children 

and Family Services, Licensing Section, LR 45:368 (March 2019), 

effective April 1, 2019, LR 46:683 (May 2020), effective June 1, 

2020, LR 47:351 (March 2021), effective April 1, 2021, 

repromulgated LR 47:441 (April 2021). 

§7314. Criminal Background Checks 

 A. – E.4. ... 

  5. Upon notification that the contractor has been 

convicted of a crime listed in 15:587.1(C), the individual shall 

no longer be eligible to provide services for the provider. The 

provider shall submit a signed, dated statement to Licensing 

within 24 hours or no later than the next business day after 

notification has been made indicating that the contract has been 

terminated and the individual is no longer allowed access to the 

children/youth or children of residents. If this statement is 

not received by Licensing within the aforementioned timeframe, 

the license shall be immediately revoked. 

  6. – F. ... 

  1. Contractors hired to perform work which does not 

involve any contact with children/youth residents or children of 

residents, shall not be required to have a criminal background 

check if accompanied at all times by a staff person when 

residents or children of residents children/youth are present in 

the agency facility. 

  2. A person shall not be deemed a contractor if 

he/she is a staff person of the facility agency. 

  3. Contractors hired to perform work which involves 

contact with children/youth residents or children of residents, 

shall be required to have documentation of a satisfactory 

fingerprint-based criminal background check through the Federal 

Bureau of Investigation (FBI) as required by R.S. 15:587.1 and 
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R.S. 46:51.2. This check shall be obtained prior to the 

individual being present in the agency facility or having access 

to the children/youth residents or children of residents.  

  4. – G.3. ... 

 AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:1407(D). 

 HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Children 

and Family Services, Licensing Section, LR 46:683 (May 2020), 

effective June 1, 2020, LR 47: 

§7315. Foster and Adoptive Certification 

 A. – C.5. ... 

  6. The DCFS State Central Registry clearance form 

shall be dated no earlier than 45 days of the foster/adoptive 

parents being certified or household members over the age of 18 

years being present in the home. Out-of-state clearance forms 

shall be dated no earlier than 120 days of foster/adoptive 

parents being certified. However, for household members over the 

age of 18 years who continue to reside outside of the state of 

Louisiana but their official domicile is a certified 

foster/adoptive home in the state of Louisiana, their clearances 

shall be dated no earlier than 45 days prior to certifying the 

foster/adoptive parents. A request for a state central registry 

clearance from the state in which the household member resides 

shall be submitted by provider every five years prior to the 

date noted on the most current clearance and at any time upon 

the request of DCFS. 

  7. – V.1. ... 

 AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:1407(D). 

 HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Children 

and Family Services, Licensing Section, LR 45:377 (March 2019), 

effective April 1, 2019, LR 46:686 (May 2020), effective June 1, 
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2020, LR 47:351 (March 2021), effective April 1, 2021, 

repromulgated LR 47:442 (April 2021), LR 47: 

§7319. Foster Care Services 

 A. – C. ... 

  1. The provider shall place a child/youth only with 

certified foster parents in an approved home. If a couple is 

legally married and is seeking to foster a child/youth, both 

individuals shall meet certification requirements. If an 

individual is seeking to foster a child/youth, he/she has not 

yet been judicially separated or divorced and his/her spouse 

continues to reside in the home, both individuals shall meet 

certification requirements.  

  2. – G.2.g. ... 

 AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:1407(D). 

 HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Children 

and Family Services, Licensing Section, LR 45:385 (March 2019), 

effective April 1, 2019, LR 47: 

§7321. Adoption Services 

 A. – B.2. ... 

  3. A child shall not be placed in an adoptive 

placement until the adoptive parents are certified and the home 

has been approved. If a couple is legally married and is seeking 

to adopt a child/youth, both individuals shall meet 

certification requirements. If an individual is seeking to adopt 

a child/youth, he/she has not yet been judicially separated or 

divorced and his/her spouse continues to reside in the home, 

both individuals shall meet certification requirements. 

 C. – H.1. ... 

  2. Provider shall conduct an initial in home face-

to-face in person supervisory visit with the child and one 

adoptive parent within seven calendar days of the child's 
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placement. Effective August 1, 2021, in accordance with Act 6 of 

the 2021 Regular Legislative Session, the next in home in-person 

face-to-face supervisory visit shall occur within 30 days of the 

initial in home in-person supervisory visit the following month. 

  3. ... 

  4. Provider shall conduct a private supervisory 

visit without the presence of the adoptive parents with each 

child age one year and above; every other month with at least a 

segment of the visit occurring in the adoptive home.  

  5. – 10. ... 

  11. Effective August 1, 2021 and in accordance with 

Act 6 of the 2021 legislative session, provider shall submit a 

confidential report to DCFS, Child Welfare concerning 

requirements noted in Section 7321.H.2-10 upon completion and to 

the court prior to the hearing on the final decree of the 

adoption. If DCFS requests additional information, the provider 

shall submit the requested information to the department by the 

date specified in the notification correspondence. 

 I. – L. ... 

  1. In domestic adoptions, DCFS may request 

information and/or documents from the provider necessary to 

complete required to be submitted to the court. the confidential 

report after the petition has been filed with the court. The 

provider shall submit the requested information and/or documents 

to the department by the date specified in the notification 

correspondence. 

  2. - M.4. ... 

 AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:1407(D). 

 HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Children 

and Family Services, Licensing Section, LR 45:388 (March 2019), 

effective April 1, 2019, LR 47:353 (March 2021), effective April 
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1, 2021, repromulgated LR 47:443 (April 2021), LR 47: 

Chapter 75. Juvenile Detention Facilities 

§7508. State Central Registry 

 A. – E. ... 

  1. Effective November 1, 2018, and in accordance 

with R.S. 15:1110.2, an inquiry of the state central registry 

for all staff (paid, non-paid and volunteers) shall be conducted 

prior to employment being offered to a potential hire or 

volunteer services provided. For staff persons who have resided 

in another state within the proceeding preceding five years, 

provider shall request a state central from that state’s child 

abuse and neglect registry prior to hire. While awaiting the 

results of the out of state central registry results, the 

individual shall be directly supervised by a paid staff 

(employee) of the juvenile detention facility at any and all 

times when he/she is on the premises and/or in the presence of a 

child/youth. The employee responsible for supervising the 

individual shall not also be awaiting the results of an out of 

state central registry clearance. Under no circumstances shall 

the individual awaiting out of state central registry results be 

left alone and unsupervised with a child/youth pending the 

official determination from that state that the individual is or 

is not listed on the state central registry. Louisiana state 

central registry clearances shall be dated no earlier than 45 

days prior to the staff being present on the premises or having 

access to children/youth. Out-of-state state central registry 

clearances shall be dated no earlier than 120 days prior to 

staff license being issued being present on the premises or 

having access to children/youth in the facility.  

   a. – G. ... 

  1. Effective November 1, 2018, and in accordance 

with R.S. 15:1110.2, an inquiry of the state central registry 
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for all contractors and LDE staff shall be conducted prior to 

providing contracted services or having access to 

children/youth. For contractors and LDE staff who have resided 

in another state within the preceding proceeding five years, 

provider shall request a state central registry check from that 

state’s child abuse and neglect registry prior to the individual 

providing services or having access to children/youth. While 

awaiting the results of the out of state central registry 

results, the individual shall be directly supervised by a paid 

staff (employee) of the juvenile detention facility at any and 

all times when he/she is on the premises and/or in the presence 

of a child/youth. The employee responsible for supervising the 

individual shall not also be awaiting the results of an out of 

state central registry clearance. Under no circumstances shall 

the individual awaiting out of state central registry results be 

left alone and unsupervised with a child/youth pending the 

official determination from that state that the individual is or 

is not listed on the state central registry. Louisiana state 

central registry clearances shall be dated no earlier than 45 

days prior to the individual providing services or having access 

to children/youth. Out-of-state state central registry 

clearances shall be dated no earlier than 120 days prior to 

license being issued contractors and LDE staff being present on 

the premises or having access to children/youth in the facility.  

   a. – H.1 ... 

 AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

15:1110.2. 

 HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Children 

and Family Services, Licensing Section, LR 45:653 (May 2019), 

effective June 1, 2019, LR 47: 

Family Impact Statement 
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 The proposed rule is not anticipated to have an adverse 

impact on family formation, stability, and autonomy as described 

in R.S. 49:972. This rule is anticipated to help alleviate 

poverty for those participating in the program. 

Poverty Impact Statement 

 The proposed rule is not anticipated to have a significant 

negative impact on poverty as described in R.S. 49:973. 

 

Small Business Impact Statement 

 The proposed rule is not anticipated to have an adverse 

impact on small businesses as defined in the Regulatory 

Flexibility Act. 

Provider Impact Statement 

 The proposed rule is not anticipated to have an impact on 

providers of services funded by the state as described in HCR 

170 of the 2014 Regular Legislative Session. 

Public Comments 

 All interested persons may submit written comments through, 

October 26, 2021, to Angie Badeaux, Licensing Program Director, 

Department of Children and Family Services, P.O. Box 3078, Baton 

Rouge, LA 70821. 

Public Hearing 

 A virtual public hearing on the proposed Rule will be held 

at 9:00 a.m. on October 26, 2021, by the Department of Children 

and Family Services. All interested persons will be afforded an 

opportunity to submit data, views, or arguments via PC, Mac, 

Linux, iOS or Android at 

https://stateofladcfs.zoom.us/j/86394477781; via telephone by 

dialing (713)353-0212 and entering conference code 430033. To 

find local AT&T numbers visit 

https://www.teleconference.att.com/servlet/glbAccess?process=1&a

ccessNumber=USA7133530212&accessCode=430033. Individuals with 

https://stateofladcfs.zoom.us/j/86394477781
https://www.teleconference.att.com/servlet/glbAccess?process=1&accessNumber=USA7133530212&accessCode=430033
https://www.teleconference.att.com/servlet/glbAccess?process=1&accessNumber=USA7133530212&accessCode=430033
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FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

 
Person Preparing 
Statement: Angie Badeaux Department: Children and Family Services 

Phone: (225) 620-6702 Office: Office of the Secretary 

Return Address: 627 N. 4th Street, P.O. Box 3078 
Baton Rouge, LA 70821 Rule Title: 

Sanctions, Child Placing 
Supervisory Visits and 
Specialized Provider Provisions 

  Date Rule 
Takes Effect: January 1, 2022  

 
SUMMARY 

(Use complete sentences) 
 
In accordance with Section 953 of Title 49 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
fiscal and economic impact statement on the rule proposed for adoption, repeal or amendment. THE 
FOLLOWING STATEMENTS SUMMARIZE ATTACHED WORKSHEETS, I THROUGH IV AND 
WILL BE PUBLISHED IN THE LOUISIANA REGISTER WITH THE PROPOSED AGENCY RULE. 
 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO STATE OR LOCAL 

GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 
 
The Department of Children and Family Services (DCFS) will incur $7,029 ($3,304 State General Fund 
and $3,725 Federal Funds) in expenses associated with the publication of this proposed rule change.  
 
This proposed rule amends several chapters within LAC 67, Part V. Child Welfare, Subpart 8. 
Residential Licensing. Specifically, the rule provides that certain individuals, such as contractors, 
volunteers and owner/operators, who reside outside of the state of Louisiana must request a state 
central registry clearance from the state in which they reside every five years or anytime at the request 
of DCFS. The rule also clarifies that when a married couple applies to become a foster or adoptive 
parent, that both individuals must meet the certification requirements to become a foster or adoptive 
parent. Additionally, the rule provides that certain staff must complete a 20-hour training that is offered 
at no cost by the National Adoption Competency Mental Health Training Initiative. Finally, the rule 
provides that foster care and adoption supervisory visits can only be conducted by specifically licensed 
medical providers.  
 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE OR LOCAL 
GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

 
The proposed rule change may result in an indeterminable change in self generated revenue for DCFS 
related to facilities being fined for failure to comply with state central registry clearance. In current 
rule, the base amount of a fine can range from $200 to $250 per day. If a facility is cited for a state 
central registry clearance not being completed prior to hire as required, but obtained before the 
individual was on the premises and/or had access to a resident or child of a resident, proposed rule 
decreases the base fee by $25. If a facility is cited for state central registry clearance not being 
completed prior to the individual being on the premises and/or having access to a resident or child of a 
resident, proposed rule increases the base fee by $25.  

 
III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO DIRECTLY AFFECTED 

PERSONS, SMALL BUSINESSES, OR NON-GOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary) 
 

Certain individuals, such as contractors, volunteers and owner/operators, who reside outside of the state 
of Louisiana may be required to pay a fee for a state central registry clearance every five years to 
another state if an individual resides in a state other than Louisiana. This fee, if assessed by another 
state varies, by state and is expected to be minimal. 
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FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

 
The following information is required in order to assist the Legislative Fiscal Office in its review of the 
fiscal and economic impact statement and to assist the appropriate legislative oversight subcommittee in its 
deliberation on the proposed rule. 
 

A. Provide a brief summary of the content of the rule (if proposed for adoption, or repeal) or a brief 
summary of the change in the rule (if proposed for amendment). Attach a copy of the notice of 
intent and a copy of the rule proposed for initial adoption or repeal (or, in the case of a rule change, 
copies of both the current and proposed rules with amended portions indicated). 

 
The implementation of this rule codifies the authority of the Department to institute intermediate 
sanctions and levy fines against licensed providers that fail to comply with the requirement of a 
state central registry check for individuals owning, working in, and having access to children/youth 
in DCFS licensed facilities and agencies. Furthermore, the rule codifies Children’s Code Article 
1213 of the 2021 Regular Legislative Session regarding child placing agency supervisory visits. In 
addition, proposed rule requires individuals to request a state central registry clearance every 5 
years if the individual resides in a state other than Louisiana. Section 7117 allows a nurse 
practitioner to complete a medical examination, in addition to a physician. Section 7314 removes 
the term children of residents from the rule as this is not a term associated with child placing agency 
regulations. Lastly, Section 7319 clarifies the requirements of a legally married couple when 
applying to become a foster/adoptive parent. 

 
B. Summarize the circumstances, which require this action. If the Action is required by federal 

regulation, attach a copy of the applicable regulation. 
 

In accordance with Act 6 and Act 31 of the 2021 Legislative Session, it is necessary to promulgate 
a Rule to make permanent the law which was effective August 1, 2021 by emergency rule. In 
addition, clarifications were made to additional sections of the rule. 

 
C. Compliance with Act 11 of the 1986 First Extraordinary Session  

 
There will be no increase in expenditure of funds. 

 
(2)  If the answer to (1) above is yes, has the Legislature specifically appropriated the funds 

necessary for the associated expenditure increase?   
 

(a)                 Yes. If yes, attach documentation. 
 

(b)       X       NO. If no, provide justification as to why this rule change should be 
published at this time  
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FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
WORKSHEET 

 
I. A. COSTS OR SAVINGS TO STATE AGENCIES RESULTING FROM THE ACTION 

PROPOSED 
 

1. What is the anticipated increase (decrease) in costs to implement the proposed action? 
 

COSTS FY 22 FY 23 FY 24 
Personal Services 
Operating Expenses  
Professional Services  
Other Charges  
Equipment 
Major Repair & Constr. 

$0 
$7,029 (rulemaking) 

$0 
$0 
$0 
$0 

$0 
$0 
$0 
$0 
$0 
$0 

$0 
$0 
$0 
$0 
$0 
$0 

Total $7,029 $0 $0 

Positions (#)    
 
 

2. Provide a narrative explanation of the costs or savings shown in "A.1.", including the increase 
or reduction in workload or additional paperwork (number of new forms, additional 
documentation, etc.) anticipated as a result of the implementation of the proposed action. 
Describe all data, assumptions, and methods used in calculating these costs.  

 
The only cost of this proposed rule is the cost of publishing rulemaking, which is estimated to 
be approximately $7,029 (47% Federal and 53% State). 
 

3. Sources of funding for implementing the proposed rule or rule change. 
 

SOURCE FY 22 FY 23 FY 24 
State General Fund 
Agency Self-Generated 
Dedicated 
Federal Funds  
Other (Specify) 

$3,304 
$0 
$0 

$3,725 
$0 

$0 
$0 
$0 
$0 
$0 

$0 
$0 
$0 
$0 
$0 

Total $7,029 $0 $0 
 

4. Does your agency currently have sufficient funds to implement the proposed action? If not, 
how and when do you anticipate obtaining such funds? 

 
The department currently has sufficient funds to implement the proposed action. 

 
B. COST OR SAVINGS TO LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS RESULTING FROM THE 

ACTION PROPOSED. 
 

1. Provide an estimate of the anticipated impact of the proposed action on local governmental units, 
including adjustments in workload and paperwork requirements.  Describe all data, assumptions 
and methods used in calculating this impact. 

 
There are no estimated costs or savings to local governmental units resulting from this rule. 

 
2. Indicate the sources of funding of the local governmental unit, which will be affected by these costs 

or savings. 
 

There will be no impact on local governmental units. 
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FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
WORKSHEET 

 
 
II. EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE AND LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL 

UNITS 
 

A. What increase (decrease) in revenues can be anticipated from the proposed action? 
 

Revenue Increase/Decrease FY 22 FY 23 FY 24 
State General Fund 
Agency Self-Generated 
Dedicated Funds * 
Federal Funds 
Local Funds 

$0 
See below 

$0 
$0 
$0 

$0 
See below 

$0 
$0 
$0 

$0 
See below 

$0 
$0 
$0 

Total See below See below See below 
*Specify the particular fund being impacted. 
 

B. Provide a narrative explanation of each increase or decrease in revenues shown in "A."  Describe 
all data, assumptions, and methods used in calculating these increases or decreases. 

 
The proposed rule change may result in an indeterminable change in self generated revenue for DCFS 
related to facilities being fined for failure to comply with state central registry clearance. In current 
rule, the base amount of a fine can range from $200 to $250 per day. If a facility is cited for a state 
central registry clearance not being completed prior to hire as required, but obtained before the 
individual was on the premises and/or had access to a resident or child of a resident, proposed rule 
decreases the base fee by $25. If a facility is cited for state central registry clearance not being 
completed prior to the individual being on the premises and/or having access to a resident or child of a 
resident, proposed rule increases the base fee by $25.  

 
III. COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS, SMALL 

BUSINESSES, OR NONGOVERNMENTAL GROUPS 
 
A. What persons, small businesses, or non-governmental groups would be directly affected by the 

proposed action? For each, provide an estimate and a narrative description of any effect on costs, 
including workload adjustments and additional paperwork (number of new forms, additional 
documentation, etc.), they may have to incur as a result of the proposed action. 

 
 
Certain individuals, such as contractors, volunteers and owner/operators, who reside outside of the 
state of Louisiana may be required to pay a fee for a state central registry clearance every five years 
to another state if an individual resides in a state other than Louisiana. This fee, if assessed by 
another state, varies by state and is expected to be minimal. 

 
B. Also provide an estimate and a narrative description of any impact on receipts and/or income 

resulting from this rule or rule change to these groups. 
 

Certain individuals may be required to pay a fee for a state central registry clearance every five 
years to another state if an individual resides in a state other than Louisiana. This fee, if assessed 
by another state, varies by state and is minimal.  
 

 
IV. EFFECTS ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
 

Identify and provide estimates of the impact of the proposed action on competition and employment in 
the public and private sectors. Include a summary of any data, assumptions and methods used in making 
these estimates. 

 
The implementation of this rule may reduce the number of available childcare contractors, volunteers 
and owner/operators given that some individual’s adverse incidents contained in their home state’s 
central registry will likely be unemployable in DCFS licensed facilities and agencies. 
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